New Tube Picks for Fall!

New picks for fall

It’s that time of year again when the temperature begins to cools off, the sun sets earlier, the leaves change, and people start spending more time indoors.  It can only mean one thing, new fall television, of course!  With a new TV season, comes some new shows.  I’ve already weeded through them and picked out the ones that sparked even the slightest bit of my fancy.  I haven’t even checked to see if they conflict with my regulars yet, thank goodness for DVRs!  Let’s take it from the top, starting with the alphabet network.  

This is the network that looks like it’s putting out the strongest hand.  I am most excited to see their freshman series more so than any other network, and because I have so many picks I’m going to list them in order of excitement and briefly talk about (1-2 sentences) a couple picks from each.

  1.  Revenge
  2. Once Upon a Time
  3. Charlie’s Angels
  4. Suburgatory
  5. Pan Am
  6. Good Christian Belles
The rating only really applies to the first three, the ones I’ll definitely tune it for. (I’ll let them speak for themselves.)  The second half are shows that could go either way for me.  Suburgatory is the only comedy I picked, about a father/daughter duo from the city finding themselves in the unbearable suburbs.  The culture clash the daughter experiences seems interesting, but I don’t know if it will be able to hold onto me.  (I’m a dry humor kind of girl, so we’ll have to see.)  The only reason I added Pan Am is because it’s all what everyone wants to see (including my mother!), and doesn’t seem that bad.  I’m just not a big fan of ’60s period dramas, but I’ll give it a chance to take flight.  Good Christian Belles (Midseason) made my list merely for the love of Kristen Chenoweth.  It comes across like a Southern cousin of Desperate Housewives.  I enjoyed the first few seasons of Desperate, so I hope Belles is going to be even better; although I still miss Kristen’s other show Pushing Daisies. Gem.

Next up: CBS 

The only show I picked here was 2 Broke Girls.  Sad I know, but it was the only one I could actually see myself getting through an entire episode.  Anything Kat Dennings is a part of is worth checking into.  I may check out some of the other newbies later on, but for now this is it.   

Moving on down the alphabet, the next stop is The CW.  The CW didn’t have too many slots to fill this year, they don’t have as many hours of programing as the other networks.  My pick here was The Secret Circle.  Being that it is paired up with The Vampire Diaries, I will definitely stick around to see what this is all about.

Fox has a good bunch of shows of shows coming down the pipeline this year,  comedy and science-fiction seem to be the name of the game over here.  Fittingly, my two top picks are Alcatraz (Midseason) from Bad Robot himself J.J. Abrams and New Girl about a girl named Jess who moves in with three guys she found on Craigslist after a big break-up.

For our last stop, NBC, I will revert back to my list format in order to get through these picks in a timely manner.

NBC

  1. Whitney
  2. Up All Night
  3. Smash
  4. Are You There Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea
  5. Prime Suspect
  6. The Playboy Club
Putting this list together, I realized that these are all pretty interchangeable.  I want to check them, but don’t want to get too attached to any one of them just to have the network give it the axe.  Chase anyone? …No? Alright, just me then.  
Hear me out on these, it’s real quick I promise.  The promos for Whitney that have been running showing the dynamic between the main couple are pretty hilarious in that “huh?” kind of way.  It completely understanding what’s up with her, but it’s still amusing.  Up All Night was chosen for two reasons: 1) sleep-deprived parents and 2) Maya Rudolph; both have the potential to deliver big laughs.  I’m excited.  I wasn’t too excited about Smash (Midseason)until I saw a promo during The Voice.  I thought it was going to be a Glee wannabe, but it looks like more of a Fame/Center Stage type of show instead.  Worth a shot.  Are You There… looks like a laid back good time.  No occasional serious moment to keep up with.   I like shows where the ladies can hold their own while keeping up with (and ahead of) the men , and Prime Suspect looks like that kind of drama.  Last but not least, The Playboy Club.  Even though I mentioned earlier that I wasn’t the biggest fan of ’60s period drama, how can you resist a show that’s caused so much controversy without even airing yet?  This show has a fine line to walk, let’s hope it doesn’t fall off.

There you have it, my picks for the fall.  Only time will tell if these freshmen shows make it through the season without getting cut first.  What are some of your picks?  Let me know in the comments below.  Happy watching!

About eclecticphoenix

I'm just a young woman who has random things to say.
This entry was posted in Entertaining and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Tube Picks for Fall!

  1. Pingback: Happy New Season! | Eclectic Phoenix

Leave a Reply

